Confessions of a Facebook Junkie

Facebook is a social network service with more than 500 million active users. Facebook was started by college students for college students. Why the attraction? The site is amazingly simple and easy to use. Users can create profiles with photos, lists of personal interests, contact information and other personal information. You can keep up with friends, upload an unlimited number of photos, share links and videos, and learn more about the people you may never meet in person.

I am on Facebook almost every day, the primary reason being just to see what is going on. I currently have 1500 friends on Facebook and I post my blog on my Wall. I even posted on my Wall asking friends to tell me what they like or dislike about Facebook. People overwhelmingly replied the ability to keep in touch with old friends. The second response was the ability to communicate with relatives that live far away. I had a chance to chat with an old friend from high school who is on active duty in the Middle East. He just happened to catch me on Facebook and we chatted for a couple hours. He was very happy to be able to talk with someone from back home. The active duty military really enjoy spending time on Facebook and getting a feel for what everyone is doing back home.

For me, I get home from work and jump on my laptop and see what is happening in the world. My younger friends are barraging me with amusing posts to let me know they are going to eat dinner and then that they are stuffed after they finish eating. I myself am somewhat guilty also; I posted a picture of my entry ticket to the World Series of Poker and then on the day of the event posted live updates at every break. I even took time to share the sad story of my demise in the tournament. The hundreds of friends that posted words of encouragement made me believe I was playing for everyone. <y friends were living vicariously through me and I was refueling my energy from their comments. There is absolutely no way we should have lost. You can bet I will be posting from the next big poker tournament.

For however inane I think my 20 year old nieces are; with their constant updating, I am still right there reading and commenting on it. Do I really care that you just woke up? Probably not, but then again, I am reading it so I must care.

Facebook created the world’s youngest billionaire, Mark Zuckerberg. The founding of Facebook is the subject of the book The Accidental Billionaire and the movie Social
Network.

Corporate America has found Facebook and they are starting to use it to connect with a tech-savvy customer base. Facebook will continue to evolve and become a larger part of each of our lives. Jump on and send me a friend request, I would love to hear what is going on in your life.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Confessions of a Facebook Junkie”

  1. Nina Cox Says:

    I would like to frame the picture you have of the Nina but can’t figure out how to acquire one. How did you get the picture on your blog? Any ideas on how to get a good print?

    Thanks!!!! Nina

Leave a Reply

