Mark We Do Not Believe You

There are thousands of people that have already written on yesterday’s news. I do not even pretend to blog on current events and I rarely stray too far from poker. I find myself sucked into the current firestorm and I feel like I am entitled to an opinion. I am a subject matter expert.

I took steroids for a significant portion of my adult life. I did it to be bigger and stronger and gain a competitive advantage. Every single success in my athletic career was gained through the use of performance enhancing substances.

Mark you have my permission to use the above paragraph. Just read it verbatim and you and I will both feel better about the confession.

For my readers, I have to tell you that everything you have watched over the last 25 years and probably most everything in the ten years prior to that has been fueled by performance enhancing drugs. My specific knowledge of steroids only goes back to the early seventies. Trust me when I say that small town guys were buying steroids in gyms in the early seventies and elite athletes with all of their resources and connections probably pioneered those trails five years prior.

The development of testosterone was pursued in the 1940s, in the Eastern Bloc countries where steroids enhanced the performance of Olympic weight lifters. U.S. Olympic Team physician Dr. John Ziegler worked to develop an anabolic steroid with reduced androgenic effects. Ziegler’s work resulted in the production of Dianabol. The new steroid was approved for use in the U.S. by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 1958. Although Ziegler prescribed only small doses to athletes, he soon discovered that those who abused Dianabol suffered from enlarged prostates and atrophied testes. Steroids were placed on the list of banned substances of the IOC in 1976, and a decade later the committee introduced ‘out-of-competition’ doping tests because many athletes used steroids in their training period rather than during competition. The testing has always lagged far behind the actual drug use and I mean as much as ten to twenty years.

I would specifically look at the rise of the eastern block countries in the strength sports. The great Vasiliy Ivanovich Alekseyev set his first world record in 1970. This serves as a pretty good point to declare as the beginning of the wide spread modern steroid era.
I find the confessions of modern athletes to be totally bullshit and I hope that none of you are buying any of what they are selling. These men have lied to the public their whole lives and do not understand what it means to tell the truth. They did it and they continue to use drugs to enhance their performance. When we sit down in front of our televisions this weekend to watch the playoffs we have to ask ourselves if we even care what kind of drugs these guys are taking. I really do not care. I just want to watch football. We all need to come clean and admit they we do not care and they should not have to lie to us. Just go do what you do well and take whatever the hell you want to take. We pay you big money to play a game and if you kill yourself in the process that is fine.

I have come clean and admitted that I took the drugs and I do not care who else is taking them. I just wish the world could handle a little bit more of the truth. Jack was right.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

